June 2018 - The Acts

Parklive - Sunday June 24th 2018 - Act Profiles

Owls Afraid of the Dark (13:15)

Owls Afraid of the Dark (formerly Sam and Cally) are a 3 piece band from Falmouth, Cornwall playing original indie pop rock with a splash of folk and grunge.

Band Members

Cally Gibson

Matt Collington

Sam Bradbury

BandCamp -  https://owlsafraidofthedark.bandcamp.com/releases

Facebook -https://www.facebook.com/owlsafraidofthedark/

Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/user/Angerthebees/

Jules Berry (12:30)

A mullti-instrumentalist of performance features the Rav Hand Pan drums

SoundCloud - https://soundcloud.com/search?q=jules%20berry

Facebook -https://www.facebook.com/indianajules

Twitch (14:00)

A mix of Rock, Chilled and very dynamic music

Band Members -

Hayley - Singer

Martin - Guitar and Vocals

Rob - Bass

Jason - Drums and Vocals

Facebook -https://www.facebook.com/Twitch-Music-332089973861140/

Hannah Bullock (15:20)

A songstress with a warm, earthy sound and powerful lyrics.

“Strong in their delicacy, Hannah's songs give space for us to hear all the hues and colours of her voice. She is a songwriting force to be reckoned with” – Fruit Tree songwriters’ programme

Soundcloud - https://soundcloud.com/hannahbullockmusic

Introducing Saithe (14:45)

Songs by Alex

inspired by the lands & waters that feel sacred yet homely. Reflections & meditations on their turbulence & beauty respectively. Votive of a resolve to preserve these for future generations. The peace, stillness and sanctity they offer in times of passion, solace or adversity. Song is soul realised, immortalised and rendered tangible into eternity 

Facebook -https://www.facebook.com/groups/133896900626569/

Bandcamp - https://saithe.bandcamp.com/track/shimmers-2

Hanterhir (17:10)


Psyche Folk

Band Members

Jason Brown - drums, percussion

Ben Harris - guitar, vocals, keyboards

Peasy - guitar, vocals

Grant Kellow - bass, vocals

Mike Hewitt - saxophone, keyboards, vocal

Lou Peixinha - flute, vocals

with undeniable help from

Frances Bennett - fiddle

Timmie Blunt - vocals

Beckie Brown - vocals

Jago Clift - vocals

Lukas Drinkwater - drums and bass

John Fillbrook - guitar

Lucy Keast - vocals

Trevor Kemp - guitar

Ross Kessell - bass and vocals

Dave Kent - drums, percussion, melodica, guitar

Brendan McGreal - bass, percussion

Luke Mitchell - guitar

Chris Odgers - guitar

Barnaby Ray - drums

Matt Robbins - bass

Hayley Sanford - vocals

Stephen Taylor - laptop

Bruce Townsley - drums and percussion

Martin Trathen - guitar, percussion

Jud Vandy - vocals

Martyn Whitford - bass

Dunc Zaffa - vocals

Home Town


Record Label

Easy Action Records


Gwrys yn Kernow


Five people play music together...sometimes more people are kind enough to join in with us.

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/hanterhir/

Music Page - https://hanterhir.bandcamp.com/

Web Page - https://hanterhir.com/about/

Show curated by Lou Peixinha and Steve Gruitt

The Beauty of Diagrams (16:10)


Original indie pop

Band Members

Four very experienced musicians with over 2,500 live performances between us...

Miles Thomas Heseltine vocals, guitar...

Jessica Barraclough vocals, keys, violin, percussion, melodica...

Richard Harding bass...

Nick Ratcliffe drums

Home Town

Penzance & Penryn


Formed in the summer of 2010,

with the addition of a rhythm section in summer 2014.

Miles writes all the songs and sings them, with beautiful backing vocals and violin from Jess topped with killer dance rhythms from Richard and Nick.

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/TheBeautyofDiagrams/

Youtube - https://youtube.com/channel/UCiTRTAW917yXWnAAAPeMmhQ